Step into the Col’Cacchio kitchen #FoodWithaStory

When this invite was delivered to my doorstep I knew I was in for a treat! By treat I mean eating myself into a small coma.

Col'Cacchio invitation

I was given the very rare opportunity of stepping into the Col’Cacchio kitchen  – pronounced “Col-kakki-yo.” I’ve pronounced it Col-ca-chi-yo for the longest time! I still prefer my pronunciation though.

The pizzeria turns 22 years old this year, and to celebrate, a handful of people were taken behind the scenes to see just how they make the food we so dearly love. From the pizza to the pastas to the salads, nothing was off-limits.

Col’cacchio is truly a franchise with a difference, with a belief that “there are no shortcuts when it comes to good food.”

And also a belief in keeping things simple.

No double meaty stacks. No double crammed crust. No cheese grillers embedded in your pizza. Or as one of my favourite tweeters @Clixwell stated, no newborn babies as pizza toppings.

Just yummy, fresh ingredients selectively sourced and lovingly prepared.

I even made my own pizza! The Morituri –  a favourite. Because bacon. And chicken. Together.

Preparing my Morituri - Seasoned Chicken Breast Strips, Bacon, Feta, roasted Red Pepper and eventually Avo

Preparing my Morituri – Seasoned Chicken Breast Strips, Bacon, Feta, roasted Red Pepper and eventually Avo

Morituri into the oven - takes only 7 minutes!

Morituri into the oven – takes only 7 minutes!

Done! I couldn't wait so I took a slice of pizza before I took a photo. Priorities! Look at all that Avo <3

Done! I couldn’t wait so I took a slice of pizza before I took a photo. Priorities! Look at all that Avo ❤

Thank you Col’Cacchio for the great afternoon (and the wonderful Olive Oil gift!)

For my Capetonians! To share the love I will be giving away a R200 Col’Cacchio voucher to buy something delicious at any Col’Cacchio pizzeria. 

To win, answer this question – how old does Col’Cacchio turn this year? Tweet the answer to me @sboshmafu

Winner announced Sunday morning (24 August 2014)

Congratulations to Thembisa Mpetshwa, @Thembisa_M, our winner! 22 years old is correct.

COMPETITION IS NOW CLOSED. Thanks for playing!

Yours in good food,

Sbosh

 

 

Leave a Reply

