I WAS A DIRTY, DIRTY CHILD: Music made my childhood awesome and creepy

(I had a lot of fun with the title but in hindsight, it does seem slightly dramatic)

I blame the human race for making Enrique Iglesias a star in the early 2000’s. The human race and Anna Kournikova.

During that time Iglesias gained popularity with ballads and pop hits laced with creepiness and undertones of more creepiness. He was relentless.

From Hero to Escape to Do You Know, the weirdness that is the choice of Enrique lyrics cannot be ignored. The songs were released when I was still in primary school, so I’d happily sing along, not knowing that I was allowing a creep demon to enter my conscience.

Stalker subliminal are surely not good for a young brain. Below, snippets from above-mentioned stalker songs.

Escape: “You can run, you can hide, but you can’t escape my love.”

Do You Know : “Do you know what it feels like to be the last one to know the lock on the door has changed?”

Hero: “Would you dance if i asked you dance? Would you run, and never look back?”

His grease-soaked videos didn’t help my cause. What was I watching and enjoying exactly?

I think reflecting on songs you’ve enjoyed in the past is important… particularly the ones you loved as a child.

I went through a reflection process with 112 too, the all-male RnB Band that brought us hits like Peaches and Cream. Yep, that’s that was pretty much the only one.

Peaches and Cream was released when I was about 12 years old,  and when I look back, lyrics like “Peaches and Cream/ I need it cause you know that I’m a fiend” were probably not suitable for my tween ears. Fortunately I wasn’t an inquisitive child, so looking up was “fiend” meant wasn’t high on my Encarta search terms list. Curious kids have the most fun.

Although the song didn’t lead me to “get freaky in a Bentley limousine,” it was the gateway to examining my choices as a kid.

What are some of the songs that loved as child, and upon reflection you cringe because it made you a dirty, dirty kid?

Leave a Reply

